Grand Forks: 4 for mayor, 9 for council

Grand Forks city hall (Greg Nesteroff/Vista Radio)

It’s a four-way race for mayor in Grand Forks after Alec Brownlee joined the race today.

He’ll face incumbent city councillor Everett Baker, incumbent Area D director Danna O’Donnell, and newcomer Stan Sharkey. O’Donnell is also running for re-election in Area D.

Of the nine people seeking council seats, three are incumbents: Neil Krog, Christine Thopmson, and Zak Eburne-Stoodley.

In addition, Patrick O’Doherty and Rod Zielinksi have served before. Zielinksi resigned in 2020 to take a job as the city’s utilities manager. Baker then filled his seat in a by-election.

The other candidates are Niki Best, Deborah LaFleur, Anna Leksinska, and David Mark.

Voting day is Oct. 15.