RDKB: Incumbents defeated in Areas D and E

RDKB office in Grand Forks (Shaun Aqualine/Vista Radio)

Only one of three incumbent Regional District of Kootenay Boundary directors was re-elected tonight.

In Area D (Rural Grand Forks), Linda Wiese won with 339 votes compared to incumbent Danna O’Donnell’s 222. O’Donnell also lost her bid for mayor of Grand Forks. Peter Demski finished third with 38 votes.

In Area C (Christina Lake), longtime incumbent Grace McGregor was re-elected by a vote of 309-202 over challenger Andreas Tomaszewski.

In Area E (West Boundary and Big White), Sharen Gibbs is the new director. She had 337 votes compared to incumbent Vicki Gee’s 225 and Oliver Glaser’s 66.

- Advertisement -

The referendum on building a new community centre in Grand Forks failed by a wide margin, with 653 in favour and 1,132 opposed. Both city and rural residents cast ballots.

But the referendum on establishing a recreation service at Big White passed 52-10.